Updates & Announcements


The New Britain Symphony Orchestra will conclude its 2017-2018 season  with Hungarian Legends, a concert celebrating the great composers , stories, and traditional folk music of one of the most diverse and beautiful countries in Europe.  The program will include Mazeppa by Franz Liszt, Summer Evening by Zoltán Kodály, and Concerto for Orchestra by Béla Bartók.


Mazeppa, a symphonic poem written in 1851, tells the story of Ivan Mazepa who, having seduced a  Polish noblewoman, was tied to a wild horse which carried him to the Ukraine, where he was rescued by Cossacks and later made  leader or hetman.  The piece follows the story as told in Victor Hugo’s  Les Orientales, depicting the hero’s ride through the steppes, fall from his horse, and eventual rescue and rise to glory. Franz Liszt was the first composer to title his work “symphonic poem”,  and Mazeppa is one of his most famous and evocative examples of this orchestral form.

Summer Evening, a student piece written by Zoltán Kodály in 1906, was revised in 1929 at the suggestion of Arturo Toscanini, to whom it was dedicated. It is an “idyll for chamber orchestra”, with no percussion or brass except for horns playing with the woodwind section.  Kodály wrote that it was “conceived on summer evenings, amid harvested cornfields, by the ripples of the Adriatic;” the melodic, pastoral piece reflects  Kodály’s love of his country and of its traditional music..


Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra, composed in 1943, is one of his best known and most popular works.  The five part composition, based on traditional Hungarian folk tunes, was commissioned by Serge Koussevitsky after Bartók moved to the United States in 1940 .  Throughout his career, Bartók strove to incorporate folk music into his compositions, and the Concerto for Orchestra was his first major work after the start of WWII, his final completed piece, and a lasting testament to his love for his native country.


Hungarian Legends will be performed on 3 pm on Sunday, May 6, 2018  at Welte Auditorium, CCSU.  Tickets are $20 ( free for students) and may be purchased online,

by phone at 860 826-6344, or at the door.



Dragon Glass Jazz Quintet

The New Britain Symphony Orchestra will celebrate Valentine’s Day early this year with

a free mini-concert by the fantastic Dragon Glass Jazz Quintet. Jazz, America’s

contribution to the world of music, is the perfect way to set the mood for this romantic


holiday. Come join us and bring a loved one -spouse, sweetheart, relative- to an hour-

long performance.


Schauntice Marshall – Vocals
Joshua Bruno – Trumpet
Michael Schiano – Piano
Nat Reeves – Bass
David Edricks – Percussion


The free concert will begin at 6:00 pm on Tuesday, Feb 13, 2018 at Trinity-On-Main, 69

Main Street, New Britain, CT. Light refreshments will be served after the performance.

2017-2018 Concert Series Announced!

The New Britain Symphony Orchestra is excited to open its 69th season on Nov 5, 2017  with CELEBRATION, a full-symphony orchestra concert  of works reflecting  beginnings, endings, and the triumph of hope over adversity.  The Orchestra, under the baton of Musical Director Ertan Seyyar Sener, will perform 4  pieces:

Overture to Candide                                                          Leonard Bernstein

First Suite in  E-flat major for Military Band              Gustave Holst

Clarinet Concerto in A major K. 622                             Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Symphony No. 5 in C minor, op.67                               Ludwig von Beethoven

The concert will open with   the Overture to Candide from Leonard Bernstein’s  1957 operetta based on  the Voltaire novella of the same name.  The piece is a lighthearted blending  of four featured tunes from the operetta, all reflecting the  theme,” All’s for the best in this best of all possible worlds.”

Holst’s Suite in E-flat major for Military Band, completed on 1909, is the first major work ever written to showcase  wind, brass and percussion. The three movements, Chaconne, Intermezzo, and March, are all based on English folk tunes and carols, and are meant to be played continuously; the  exuberant work is considered to be one of the best known and most loved   pieces ever written for military bands.

Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto in A major, K. 622,  featuring soloist James Kleiner,  was Mozart’s last  orchestral work, completed less than 2 months before his death in  1791, when he was at the height of his powers.   The piece moves from the light and joyful  Allegro, through the measured and melodic Adagio to the final  Rondo,  a  bouncy“whirlwind of sound” .

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 in C minor, op. 67,  opens with arguably the  4 most famous  notes in classical music,   known as the Fate motif.   The work, first performed in 1808, was written while Beethoven was suffering from worsening  deafness;  the Symphony progresses  from  the dramatic opening movement Sonata through the lyric  Andante,  the thunderous  Scherzo, and the joyful  Finale.

The concert will take place Sunday, Nov, 5  2017  at 3 pm. in Central Connecticut State University’s Welte Hall.  General admission tickets are $20  for adults, and free for children and college students with ID.  Tickets may be purchased at the door,   online at newbritainsymphony.org., or by phone at  860 823-6344.