…To Freedom

  • ...To Freedom
    November 20, 2016
    3:00 pm - 5:00 pm


The NBSO season will formally open with the first of two main stages concerts, “…To Freedom”. The program for this concert includes a number of pieces celebrating the American experience, including “Liberty Fanfare” by John Williams, Dvořák’s “From the New World” Symphony, and the world premiere of Hartford native and American Composer Competition winner Albert Hurwit’s “Are There Still Bells”, a new piece inspired by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow’s poem “Christmas Bells”.

The full program is:
Liberty Fanfare
John Williams

Adagio for Strings
Samuel Barber

Adagio from Symphony No. 1 “Remembrance”
Albert Hurwit

Are There Still Bells World Premiere
Albert Hurwit

Symphony No. 9 “From the New World”
Antonín Dvořák

General admission tickets are $20 for adults and free for children and college students (with ID). Tickets may be purchased online, at the door or in advance by contacting the Symphony Office by email at office@newbritainsymphony.org or by telephone at 860-826-6344.



Venue Phone: (860) 832-2278

1615 Stanley Street, New Britain, Connecticut, 06051, Unknown

Welte Hall is set on the North-West corner of the CCSU Campus. Parking in available in several of the lots near the Hall. For a more accurate view of the location please visit the CCSU interactive campus map.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *